h1

Introducing Regan, Our Resident Everthingityst

09/02/2013

Hello my name is Regan Foley, I am 17 years old and I’m a senior in high school in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Clearly, I am a nerd, so I enjoy Literature, History, Psychology, and basically anything that could possibly relate to learning. But I also have a love for film that has consumed my life for these past 17 years. And I’m not even kidding about that. When I was young, one of my favourite things to do was to watch movies and pretend to be the characters in the movie. Then when I realized that the characters were not real, I started to make my own “films”, starring my brother and anyone else who would possibly be willing to go along with my horrible directions. Since I was young and didn’t have a camera then, they were mostly just plays that were showed to no one but my actors.

I was given my first camera at the age of 10, and I have been known as “the weird girl with the camera” since. When I wasn’t directing these “movies” I was writing stories that I hoped would one day be published as a book, that then would be adapted into a movie. Growing up I was lead to believe that I was only able to have 1 career, forcing me to choose between my two loves: books and film. It was awful to be put into a situation like that. Many others tried to tell me that both were stupid things to try and pursue, because there was no guarantee I would be able to make it with either of them, and all the good stories were taken anyway, so why bother? But of course, as I got older I realized that it was stupid for me to force myself to choose between the two, and that it wasn’t stupid for me to want to shoot for big goals. I don’t know if this makes any sense, but what I want to say is that I’m very passionate about the things I love and I have a right to be overly enthusiastic about it. So, the thing I would say I could bring to DFTBA news is someone who isn’t afraid to show that she is passionate about something anymore. And I want to be able to inspire other people to be the same way.

So that’s me (well, at least the basic things you need to know about me.) I hope I didn’t bore you at all.

Regan Foley

Leave a Reply

