h1

An Editorial Introduction

20/02/2013

My name is Addison and I’m a new editor for DFTBA News.  I’m 17, gay, from Chicago, and I am a senior at an arts high school in the city.  I’m currently studying piano and composition.  However, I plan to study English and physics in college.  I’ve been playing piano for 12 years now, and it’s a big part of my life, but I don’t want to do it professionally.  Playing piano has become much more personal for me lately, and I want to keep it that way.

In my spare time (which barely exists) I read, write, draw poorly, watch vloggers, and scroll through tumblr.  I enjoy TV shows like Doctor Who, Phineas and Ferb, Nikita, and Once Upon a Time.  My favorite movies include The Italian Job, Up, The Incredibles, Pitch Perfect, and Submarine.  If I listed all of my favorite musicians, this introduction wouldn’t ever end, so I’ll put the massively abridged version here:  Metric, Crystal Castles, OK Go, The Decemberists, The Bird and the Bee, and Driftless Pony Club.  My favorite books are Looking for Alaska by John Green (along with everything else he’s written, but LFA is my favorite), The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Willful Creatures by Aimee Bender, Uglies (and the rest of the series) by Scott Westerfeld, and Grendel by John Gardner.  Enough of this list thing, on to how I found out about DFTBAN

I first stumbled across DFTBAN while scrolling through tumblr.  John had posted something with DFTBAN as the source, and it struck my fancy.  I decided to take a quick look, and was immediately intrigued.  I followed DFTBAN and got an occasional burst of awesome every time something new was posted.  I didn’t think anything else would come of it, but when DFTBAN posted that it was looking for people to help it grow and become even more awesome, I just had to put myself out there.  After that, Peeta contacted me, along with several others, and now I’m writing this!

I hope to bring a supportive, welcoming, intelligent, and interesting vibe to DFTBAN and I hope that all of the readers are satisfied with and enthralled in the amount of awesome that’s going to be pumped out.  I’m super excited about this project, and I hope that it continues to grow as time goes on.

–Addison

Leave a Reply

