h1

Best Advice Ever?

13/03/2013

/!\WARNING/!\

The article contains some language and the videos in the article are very harsh so please watch and read at your own risk

/!\ END WARNING /!\

source: http://www.cracked.com/blog/6-harsh-truths-that-will-make-you-better-person/

The sourced article is long but worth ever single character.  As mentioned by the author this is advice that I wish I had received when I was much younger.

I would like to add a few things to what the article says because the audience of DFTBA News is different than Cracked.com (you will have to read the article for this to make all the sense)

1) The last place people will actually get a chance to know the “real you” is in High School.
—This is a truth that nobody likes to talk about because once your graduate from High School for the majority of people you meet you are only worth what you can produce.   HS is the last place you will see the same people over and over again on a daily basis that isn’t a job where people other than your teachers expect you to do things.   See when you have a job people expect you to do things and it will matter less and less the more years you get from HS how popular you used to be if you don’t do your fair share of the work.  This is not to say you won’t make friends after HS, you will, people will just be less likely to want to get to know you if you are not good at what you produce.

2) You CAN change the world… but not over night
—So many of the readers that I have interacted with during the run of DFTBA News are idealists and there is absolutely nothing wrong with this.  But they seem to think they can just say something should be different and it will be.   Somebody once said that “anything worth doing is hard” and when you combine that with the quote “if your dreams don’t scare you they are not big enough” you start to get a picture of what life is really like.  Think of some of the most rewarding things people talk about doing.  Being married? Hard work and patience. Climbing Mt. Everest? Lots of training and hard work.  Running your own company? Hard work that is equal to lots of sleepless nights figuring out how to do a lot of things you never thought you would be doing.

Take the John Greens last airport video for example.  We get a real glimpse into his personal life.  (I am not suggesting for one second that the VlogBrothers are anything but real in their videos but their personal lives, between them and their families, doesn’t come out that often)  He talks about how in his video before that with him and Henry a lot of people said he was such a good dad and he makes the comment that he really isn’t.  Not that he isn’t a good dad when around but that he isn’t around much because he is working so hard at his career.   No matter what we want to get good at something is sacrificed so you can get good at it.

3)  Lastly, Some advice from Watsky “kids, don’t be a dickweed, appreciate the shit out of the present moment and
be
fucking nice”
— Even though the article says “Harsh Truths” there is no reason you cannot deliver this info in a nice as possible way to people.   One of the most beloved group of people in America is sports coaches.  As a person who didn’t really  play sports I never ever understood why kids and professionals would like their coach when it seemed all they ever did was yell at them and make them do things that didn’t want to do.  This was until I joined my theatre troop in High School.  My theatre teacher would yell at me and tell me to do things I didn’t want to do.  Then later when I worked in professional theatre my director would yell at me when I made a mistake and tell me things I didn’t really want to do.  But, I wanted to be there and I wanted to learn so i did them any way and after about 20,000+ hours over ~4 years I was pretty good at technical theatre.

So read the article, take my non-expert advice, and think about it and do something this year.  I would have so much more time in my life if I didn’t do DFTBA News, but I wouldn’t be the person I am with out it.  Yeah, I get harsh comment sometimes and  I get hate mail occasionally from people who don’t agree with me but I am doing something, but that is not going to stop me from creating.  As Kid President says, “What will be your Space Jam?”

Peeta

One comment

  1. Haha! I love that article, and I totally ❤ David Wong. If you've never read his novel "John Dies At The End," it's absolutely brilliant. Although, fair warning, it's mostly in the horror/thriller genre, with a little bit of sci-fi element, so, you know, lots of scary monsters and things.

    *Also,* because I've gotten bagged about this before, *JDATE has SWEAR WORDS,* so, you know, if you are one of the few people who are squeamish about f-bombs and yet are still…on tumblr…just, be aware. Otherwise, best book I've read in a while.

    Glad to see another reblog of this article, it's probably the most legit thing I've seen on the internet in a long time.



Leave a Reply

