h1

Hey you guys…

23/04/2013

Maybe its because I have spent too much time on Tumblr but the phrase “you guys” is really starting to bother me.

Today at work I had to send an e-mail to a department that has both male and female (as defined by their sex) employees.   The  first draft* of the e-mail was harmless enough I was simply following up on a procedural thing we have to do and I said, “(internal company website) says I need to email you guys to make sure X and Y are completed. ”

The second draft* was changed to read, “(internal company website) says I need to e-mail your team to make sure X and Y have been completed.”  I felt much better about this because it seemed somehow less offensive.

As I stated, perhaps this is because I have spent too much time on Tumblr, but why don’t we have some phrase that is the equivalent of you guys?   I suppose I could have said you people but that has all kinds of other connotations and working for a company that is a lot like the Cheers bar you do your best not to offend anybody.

I know that probably not a lot of people care about words and phrasing but since words is what I do the more days that go by the more I find the way things are phrased bother me.  So I am going to do my best to abolish the phrase “you guys” from my vocabulary (unless I am of course talking to a bunch of people who happen to be guys) and see what happens.

What other words and phrases bother you all? (oooh I like that one)

~Peeta

*somebody told me not a lot of people proof read their e-mails.  When I am sending them to a friend I rarely do but when I am conducting professional business for my job or DFTBA News I do… every time.  Sometimes more than once. Is it really that weird?

Leave a Reply

