h1

Shaving… Why?

10/06/2013

/!\ WARNING/!\

The below content may not be suitable for people of all sensitivities.   Be aware that if the talk of genitals, hair, and sex bothers you then you may NOT want to continue reading

/!\ WARNING /!\

Why is shaving various body parts a thing?

To answer this question first I looked up to find out why we have hair to begin with.  Turns out we don’t NEED it.  On top of the head it’s a good idea to have since it has the most direct contact with the sun year round.  And as far as under the arms and in the genital area the hair acts as an amplifier for the pheromones that are released when attracting a mate.  Other than that its not really useful.

Still, we humans have it.

So why is it taboo if women don’t shave?  I mean guys are allowed to have a beard or not and society doesn’t care one way or another.  Sure some are attracted to the beard while others are not but you are not going to see a guy referred to as “dirty” or “trashy” for not shaving his face.

I believe that there are as many reasons as there are people but I will try to generalize what I think some of them might be.

1) The lack of body (not talking about genital hair here, that is later)  hair represents youth.  And since a lot of people associate beauty with youth the more youthful one can look the better.

2) The lack of hair or well groomed hair in the genital area is a preference.  Some prefer little to no hair because during oral sex you are less likely to get an eye or mouth full of hair.   And others prefer the all natural approach.

3)It has become the societal norm and people don’t like things that are different.

My partner is aware of my preferences and I am aware of hers because we talk about them.  However, if she doesn’t want to shave for any various reasons I am not going to freak out at her.  Before you get overly intimate with somebody you should know things about them.  Especially if those things are going to be a deal breaker for you.

A friend of mine told me on Sunday (the spark for this) “I cannot wait to get married so I don’t have to shave all the time anymore.”

My response, “Guurl (used as a substitute for their name) if you have to shave to get a man then you got the wrong man unless you want to keep shaving forever.  A persons preference does not change once they get married.”

My point is do what YOU feel comfortable with.  I personally like to be well groomed but you are not going to find me shaving my chest anytime soon.  And my partner doesn’t shave her legs very often and I am okay with that.

Also guys, hair is natural.  It is not any more “gross” for a girl to have hair on her legs, arms, genital region, or anywhere else so quit it.  Just stop. Why? Because you are embarrassing yourself.  This is the 21st Century.  Deal with it.

~Peeta

As always please feel free to comment below or if you want your response definitely  published send an e-mail to dftbanews@gmail.com

3 comments

  1. Oh my gosh thank you for writing this. I and my friends were recently talking about this issue. They get uber dramatic about hairy legs or pits, and i am like would you keep calm and get over yourself. Nicely written by the way.


  2. Woo! “do what YOU feel comfortable with.” Halle-frickin-lujah. You do not have to shave for guys to like you if you don’t want to!

    I don’t shave my legs, because I *hate* the feeling of bare legs, especially against certain fabrics, like couch upholstery or denim. But I always shave my armpits because if I don’t it feels tickle-y prickle-y.

    And people are like, “Why do you do half and half? Are you, like, making half a feminist statement?” And I’m like, “Not making a statement, I literally just have texture preferences that differ between body areas.”


  3. Halle-frickin-lujah to you too, I do shake my pits often because I don’t like hairy pits. However I couldn’t give two whats about my legs maybe I am just lazy. How, I don’t know why i am telling you this, thanks for replying



Leave a Reply

