h1

Book Recommendations 2

31/07/2013

I have so many books I could think of.

Spoon River Anthology. It’s a book of monologues written in poetic form about the history of a town called Spoon River in Illinois. It’s by Edgar Lee Masters who is a well known poet, but for some reason he’s not as popular, and this book is not as popular. It’s just cool how all of the stories intertwine in some way.

I know there are people that know this, and there are people who hate the author (I hate the author, but love the books) The Ender’s Game books are amazing! But even if people know them they stop at reading the first book rather than going through the rest of the series, and they are are pretty awesome! They’re intelligent and well written, Even though Orson Scott Card is known to have issues.

Touching Spirit Bear by Ben Mikaelsen was one of my favorite books when I was in middle school, but not many people know that one either. It’s about a boy who beats a classmate practically to death and he is exiled to an island so that he can learn to control himself. I haven’t read it in a long time, but I remember loving it.

Night by Elie Wiesel. It’s a less popular survivors account of The Holocaust. People have probably heard of it, it’s on a lot of high school reading lists, but no one talks about it for some reason? I loved it…in a way that you can love a book about the holocaust…I think you know what I mean though.

Peeps by Scott Westerfeld. Everyone rants and raves about Uglies and Leviathan and Midnighters, but no one talks about Peeps! It’s educates you about parasites in between the plot about a fictional parasite that turns you into a zombie/vampire thing that is….usually sexually transmitted…

The Boy Who Couldn’t Die by William Sleator is about a boy who undergoes some sort of voodoo spell to make him invincible, but the woman who did it basically took out his soul and uses it too kill people while he sleeps. I remember it being really good when I first read it, I haven’t read it in a long time though. The weird thing is is that you learn a lot about scuba diving in the book…..which is much of the reason why I remember liking it.

If you like horror. I remember loving a book called Project 17 by Laurie Faria Stolarz about teenagers who sneak into an abandoned asylum in order to make a documentary and end up running into some ghosts that educate them on the mistreatment of the patients when they were alive. You learn about Lobotomy and how much torture it was to be a mental patient in the 1800’s. That coupled with Ten Days in a Mad House by Nellie Bly is fantastic!

~Regan

Leave a Reply

