h1

Geek Outs of the Week

23/09/2013

What did I geek out on this week?

  1. Munchkin
  2. BBQ
  3. Real History

1. Munchkin is a card based game developed my Steve Jackson.  The games can be found HERE.  What I really like about the game is the help me hurt me nature of the game.  The over all goal is to get to a natural level 10 by defeating monsters or the ever rare “Go Up A Level” Card.  You also have curse cards that will either curse you or that you can use on another player.  You have equipment cards that allow you to boost your level so you can defeat larger monsters.

It is a great game that doesn’t take too long to learn (especially if you have played RPG’s or table top games before).  Its for 3-6 players and can be very engaging.  HERE is a video to the folks over at Geek and Sundry playing the game (:\

2. BBQ – This weekend I ended up in Kansas City, MO to celebrate my grandma’s 70th Birthday.  There is one thing that is a must do whenever I visit my home town and that is to scarf down some Barbeque.  Everybody has their favorite type of BBQ.  Some like it spicy, some sweet, some like the wet sauce, and some like the dry rub.  I am not about to bash a personal choice but for me nothing does it better than the Sweet wet sauce KC is famous for.  While I was in town for 4 days I had BBQ 3 days and it was amazing!  If BBQ is not a thing in the part of the country where you grew up I would recommend giving it a try… just once

3. Real History – This semester, in my quest to become a degree holder, I am studying American History from 1865 – Present Day.  I am really enjoying the text and teacher for this class because they don’t hold back on the dark side of history.  The facts are that America has made many mistakes in the quest to become a nation and many of those we continue to make today.  The problem with this is many of those mistakes are not taught so we don’t learn from them.   It is because those things are taught that I am kind of geeking out on history this week (:

What are some of the things you are geeking out on?

Leave a Reply

